Ispim Wiley Dissertation Award American

Abhishek Nagaraj (UC-Berkeley) (Ph.D., MIT):  “Essays on the Impact of Digital Information on Innovation”
Advisor: Scott Stern (MIT)

Ulya Tsolmon (Washington U. in St. Louis) (Ph.D. Duke U.) : “Gaining Competitive Advantage from Human Capital: Role of Markets and Firm Structure.”
Advisor: Will Mitchell

Johan Chu (U. of Chicago) (Ph.D., U. of Michigan): “Durable Dominance.” Advisor: Gerald F. Davis

Christian Catalini (MIT) (Ph.D., U. of Toronto): “Three essays on the impact of geographic and social proximity on Innovation.” Advisor: Ajay Agarwal

Ken Younge (Purdue U.; Ph.D. U. of Colorado) for “Employee Mobility and the Appropriation of Value from Knowledge: Evidence from Three Essays.” Advisor: Tony Tong.

Tomasz Obloj (HEC Paris; Ph.D. INSEAD) for “Incentive Life-Cycles: The Role of Learning, Ability, and Cognitive Biases in the Division of Value between Firms.” Professor Obloj’s adviser was Peter Zemsky.

Martin Ganco (U. of Minnesota; Ph.D. University of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign) for “The Effect of Technological Complexity on Innovation Performance, Employee Entrepreneurship and Mobility: Three Essays.”

Chuck Eesley (Stanford U.; Ph.D. MIT) for “Essays on Institutions and Pre-founding Experience: Effects for Technology-Based Entrepreneurs in the U.S. and China.”

Mario Schijven (Texas A&M U.; Ph.D. Tilburg) for: “Acquisition Capability Development: Behavioral and Cognitive Learning Perspectives.”

Olivier Chatain (U. of Pennsylvania; Ph.D. INSEAD): Capturing Value from Client Relationships: Theory and Evidence.

Dear STR Community,

Please find below the calls for three awards that the Strategic Management Division will give out in 2018. The first is a new and exciting award, for STR Distinguished Scholar – recognizing the highest level of scholarly accomplishment in our field. The second is for the Irwin Outstanding Educator Award, which this year will be given for contributions to MBA and executive education. Please contribute nominations for these prestigious awards!

Last but not least, the STR division will recognize one winner and up to five other finalists for the STR Wiley Blackwell Outstanding Dissertation Award. If you completed or will complete a dissertation in strategic management between February 1, 2017 and January 31, 2018, please submit an abstract and summary!

Please click the following links to read more about the descriptions, criteria, and nomination process for each of the awards:

To nominate someone for the Distinguished Scholar or the Irwin Outstanding Educator awards, send an email to Xavier Martin, STR Division Chair Elect. Include a brief note explaining your reasons for nomination and either attach the nominee’s CV or include a URL link. Self-nominations are welcome. Nominations will be accepted until January 15, 2018.

For the STR Outstanding Dissertation Award, recent graduates should follow the detailed guidelines and instructions on the above link. Nominations will be accepted until February 2, 2018.

The winners for all awards will be selected by a STR awards committee.

I look forward to receiving your nominations of deserving colleagues!

Best wishes,
Xavier Martin
STR Division Chair-elect

0 thoughts on “Ispim Wiley Dissertation Award American

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *